Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Retained list 2021

Players' futures decided

15 June 2021

Club News

Retained list 2021

Players' futures decided

15 June 2021

We have announced our retained list following the conclusion of the 2020-21 campaign.

Eight players remain under contract heading into the new season, while several members of the squad have been given the chance to extend their stay at Meadow Lane.

Michael Doyle has been offered the role of assistant head coach on a permanent basis, although should he accept he will remain registered as a player.

Six contracted players, including long-serving squad member Enzio Boldewijn, will sadly be leaving us, while five loan spells have come to an end.

A statement from our board of directors reads: “We would like to place on record our sincere gratitude to all departing players for their efforts throughout their time at the club.

“Saying goodbye is never easy but those moving on to new challenges can all leave in the knowledge they gave their all for Notts County.

“Enzio in particular has provided many special memories, including several wonderful goals, and we’re sure he will always be held in the highest regard by our supporters.

“As fans will see, we are making every effort to retain a strong core of the squad which we feel performed exceptionally well towards the end of last season.

“We believe an element of stability will be key to building on our excellent recent form, while we will of course be looking to make several strong new additions to the squad. We are hopeful that this will include the retention of one of this season’s loan players.

“Our recruitment team have been working closely with head coach Ian Burchnall since his arrival to identify players we believe can help us realise our goal of returning to the EFL as soon as possible and we look forward to welcoming fresh talent to the squad in the coming weeks.”

Burchnall will be discussing the retained list and providing his thoughts on the future tomorrow.

Under contract

Alex Lacey

Richard Brindley

Jake Reeves

Callum Roberts

Ruben Rodrigues

Lewis Knight

Elisha Sam

Kyle Wootton

Offered new contract

Sam Slocombe

Tiernan Brooks

Connell Rawlinson

Adam Chicksen

Dion Kelly-Evans

Jim O’Brien

Offered assistant head coach role

Michael Doyle


Luke Pilling

Luke Steele

Ben Turner

Damien McCrory

Jordan Barnett

Enzio Boldewijn

Loan players returning to clubs

Mark Ellis

Calvin Miller

Regan Griffiths

Matty Wolfe

Jimmy Knowles

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Shop