Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Former players' dinner

Special celebrations mark record-breaking successes 20 years on

23 March 2018

Fans are invited to join a big crowd for an evening of special memories when Notts’ remarkable achievements in 1997-98 are celebrated at the former players’ annual dinner at Meadow Lane on Saturday 12 May.

Tickets are now available at £30 a head but are limited in number and early application is strongly advised (see below).

Those attending will be joining no fewer than nine players of that season’s squad who smashed five records on their way to winning the championship under Sam Allardyce in the Football League’s fourth tier.

Big Sam has, of course, also been invited and hopes to be present but first needs to ensure he is clear to fulfil his managerial duties with Everton the following day, when they complete their Premier League season at West Ham United.

Among the players who will be present are:

- Ian Hendon, who captained the side while making 38 appearances

- Gary Jones, the season’s top scorer with 28 goals while missing only one league game

- Mark Robson, who hit the only goal against Leyton Orient on 28 March to ensure the title was won on the earliest-ever date in any division of the Football League

- Shaun Derry, with 28 appearances up to late January before Sheffield United paid £700,000 to take him to Bramall Lane.

Joining them will be Dennis Pearce, Ian Baraclough, Ian Richardson, Matt Redmile, Alex Dyer and physio Roger Cleary.

For tickets for this outstanding event please apply either to Brian Bates (07767 122 443, or Les Bradd (07968115162,

Advertisement block