Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

EFL Awards: Mitre Goal of the Year

27 February 2017

Help us find our best goal of 2016!

The EFL have launched the search to find the 2016 Mitre Goal of the Year and we are asking for your help in deciding which of our goals from the last 12 months should be put forward as our nomination.

We have narrowed the choices to the four goals shown in this video and you can vote for your favourite in our Twitter poll here.

Goal one: Jon Stead v Plymouth

After collecting a clipped pass from Thierry Audel, Stead knocks the ball past Sonny Bradley before outpacing the defender and haring towards goal. With Bradley breathing down his neck and Nauris Bulvitis in his way, the striker slips past the Latvian central defender with some neat footwork before slotting the ball past goalkeeper Luke McCormick.

Goal two: Aaron Collins v Leyton Orient

The Wolves loanee shows terrific pace to show Ulrich N'Nomo a clean pair of heels, racing down the right wing before gliding past Yvan Erichot and sliding the ball into the back of the net to cap a terrific and rapid counter-attack to seal a 3-1 win for the Magpies.

Goal three: Adam Campbell v Portsmouth

The first part of a matchwinning double from the striker. A flighted free-kick by Richard Duffy was brought down by the former Newcastle man but the ball broke behind him and the chance had seemingly gone begging. However, Campbell arced his run and bent a terrific first-time effort into the top corner from 20 yards, leaving home goalkeeper David Forde with no chance.

Goal four: Michael O'Connor v Barnet

The captain's first goal for the club was certainly one to remember. After playing a short corner with Campbell, the central midfielder curled the ball across goal and into the top corner with shot-stopper Jamie Stephens left grasping at thin air.

Our nominated goal will be entered in the Mitre Goal of the Year category at the EFL Awards on Sunday 9 April at the Hilton Hotel on Park Lane, London. A judging panel will then review the goals with a selection being shown on Channel 5’s Football on Five Goal Rush.

Fans will be given the opportunity to vote for goals to make the final shortlist of five, with the overall winner being decided at the glittering awards ceremony. 

Past winners of the Mitre Goal of the Year have been Marco Matias (Sheffield Wednesday), Joe Garner (Preston North End – 2014), Franck Moussa (Coventry City – 2013), Simon Cox (Nottingham Forest – 2012), Peter Whittingham (Cardiff City – 2011), Dean Furman (Oldham Athletic - 2010), Nicky Maynard (Bristol City – 2009), Sylvain-Ebanks Blake (Wolverhampton Wanderers – 2008), Jermaine Beckford (Leeds United – 2007), Joe Ledley (Cardiff City – 2006) and Stefan Oakes (Notts County – 2005).

To find out more about the EFL Awards, click here.

Advertisement block