Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Win FM2014: Choose Our Best Goal Of 2013

14 January 2014

Club News

Win FM2014: Choose Our Best Goal Of 2013

14 January 2014

The Football League have launched the search to find the Mitre Goal of the Year for 2013...

We are asking for Notts County fans help in deciding which of our goals from the last 12 months should be put forward as our nomination.

We can nominate one goal from any Football League competition in the 2013 calendar year, to include goals scored in the Sky Bet Football League, the Capital One Cup and the Johnstone’s Paint Trophy.

We want fans to help us decide our club nomination by posting their choice on the Magpie Wall.

Supporters have until midday on Friday 17 January to suggest their best goals via the Magpie Wall, before a shortlist of five finishes will be put to the public vote. 

Anybody that makes a suggestion for the Goal of the Year on the Magpie Wall will be entered into a draw to win a copy of Football Manager 2014. 

Our nominated goal will then be entered in the Mitre Goal of the Year category at the Football League Awards 2014. 

A judging panel will then review the goals with the top 10 being shown on Sky Sports’ Soccer AM on 9 February.  

Fans will be given the opportunity to vote for goals to make the final shortlist of five, with the overall winner being decided at the glittering Awards ceremony at The Brewery, London on Sunday 16 March 2014.

Past winners of the Mitre Goal of the Year have been Simon Cox (Nottingham Forest – 2012), Peter Whittingham (Cardiff City – 2011), Dean Furman (Oldham Athletic - 2010), Nicky Maynard (Bristol City – 2009), Sylvain-Ebanks Blake (Wolverhampton Wanderers – 2008), Jermaine Beckford (Leeds United – 2007), Joe Ledley (Cardiff City – 2006) and Stefan Oakes (Notts County – 2005).

To find out more about The Football League Awards please visit

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Shop